|
|
|
Databases |
BookFlix
Literacy resource for kids that pairs classic video storybooks
from Weston Woods with related nonfiction ebooks from Scholastic
|
EBSCO
Indexes over 3000 magazines & journals. Contains the full-text
articles for over 1000 magazines
|
iCONN
Magazines, journals, newspapers, business & health information,
reQuest - the Statewide Library Catalog, and more. Some
of the databases are described below.
|
MagillOnLiterature
Plus
Search by author, title, literary character or locale, author's
cultural or national identity. Contains author biographies,
topical overviews and work analyses.
|
World
Book Encyclopedia Online
Online version allows for easy printing of maps, diagrams, and
pictures as well as other features not in the book version.
|
Selected
iCONN Databases:
Infotrac
Kids (grades K-6), Infotrac Jr. (jr. high), Infotrac Student (high
school): Full-text magazine articles that are age-appropriate.
Includes a toolbox that shows the steps of report writing, from outline
to citations.
General Reference Center Gold has articles and citations
from magazines and newspapers.
iCONN Newsstand: Full-text coverage of 7 major newspapers
Business & Company Resource Center for business information.
Health & Wellness Resource Center for health information.
Discovering Collection includes biography, science, history, and literature.
History Reference Center: Provides articles from
magazines, journals, reference and non-fiction books; biographies,
documents and speeches; maps and photographs. Also includes film and
video clips of social, political and cultural historical events of
the 20th Century from 1893 to 1985. Audience: High School & up.
Science Reference Center: Provides articles from
scientific reference books, magazines, journals, biographies and images.
Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science,
environmental science, health & medicine, physics, technology,
and wildlife. Audience: High School & up
Student Research Center: A more student-friendly
version of the History and Science Reference Centers that provides
the same high quality content. Choose content sources, browse by topic
headings, use an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore top searches
of the day, and even limit searches according to reading levels. Audience:
Middle School & up
HeritageQuest ONLINE: Research resource for family
history and American culture includes U.S. federal census records
and the UMI Genealogy and Local History collection. Audience: Middle
School & up
We welcome your suggestions
and comments. Although there isn't sufficient time to respond to suggestions
individually, we do read & consider all of them. contact us: mansfield@biblio.org Mansfield Public Library
| 54 Warrenville Road | Mansfield, CT | 06250| 860-423-2501 |
Hours
Monday 9-5
Tuesday 9-8
Wednesday 9-8
Thursday 9-8
Friday 9-5
Saturday 10-5 |
|