Databases and Reference Sites
Books & Periodicals | Business & Finance | Calendars & Time | Career | Connecticut
Digital Library | Databases | Directories | Education
| Employment Listings | English | Entertainment
| Gardening | Genealogy
| Government | Hobbies
| Internet Search Engines | Legal | Libraries | Maps | Measurement |
Medical Information | Naugatuck | News
| Population | Taxes
| Weather | ZIP
codes
E-books have arrived at Howard Whittemore Memorial Library!!!
Login to NetLibrary
For additional information, go to our E-book site.
Books & Periodicals
Business & Finance
Calendars and Time
Databases
Iconn.Org - You may access
this from home if you have a valid Connecticut library card. The CDL connects to
many specialized magazine databases including OneFile, Academic ASAP, Info Trak
and Business and Company Resource Center, Heritage Quest and an index to the Hartford
Courant.
NoveList
NoveList allows readers to
use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles of
interest. NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading
access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 125,000 fiction titles. It also
includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What
Were Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For
school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on
Teaching with Fiction.
*Note - To access this database from home
you must be a registered borrower of the Whittemore Library. See the back of your library
card for your borrower id#
NoveList K-8
NoveList
K-8 NoveList K-8 contains enhanced subject access for over
50,000 fiction titles aimed at the K-8 population. Full-text reviews from sources like School
Library Journal and Booklist are available for many titles. If you
are looking for ways to introduce both teachers and students to new books, and if you want
to encourage independent reading and help students think more about why a particular story
appeals to them -- you should look at NoveList® K-8! NoveList K-8, a
fiction database, is designed with a bright, appealing layout, especially for
elementary and middle schools. The Teacher Resources tab provides easy access to a
wide range of curriculum-related material.
*Note - To access this database from home
you must be a registered borrower of the Whittemore Library. See the back of your library
card for your borrower id#

Auto
Repair Reference Center - The database includes automotive repair
information supplied by Nichols Publishing, the former publisher of the Chilton®
information and information from Delphi Integrated Service Solutions. Auto Repair
Reference Center contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported
vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.
Database content includes approximately 25,000 vehicles covered from 1945 to present; over
100,000 factory drawings and step-by-step photographs; over 65,000 technical service
bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer; wiring
diagrams for easy viewing and printing; specifications & maintenance schedules; Labor
Time Guide & Estimator; Quick Tips, a complete guide to vehicle ownership &
maintenance; unlimited remote access and much more. New repair procedures and updates will
also be added continuously. All of the content in Auto Repair Reference Center has
been created by ASE certified technicians.
*Note - To access this database from home
you must be a registered borrower of the Whittemore Library. See the back of your library
card for your borrower id#
- Directories
Education
English
- Citation Styles - this
writing site explains the different citation styles such as MLA, APA, CHICAGO & CBE.
Entertainment
Gardening
- Composting information - site addresses
many aspects of composting including equipment needed and environmental impact
- Organic Gardening - from the editors
of Organic Gardening magazine, this site concentrates on organic gardening
- Horticulture - the site of Horticulture
magazine
- Fine Gardening - the site of Fine
Gardening magazine
Genealogy
(Link Below Good From Inside Library)
"If outside library go to www.iconn.org"
HeritageQuest
Online - HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S.
federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy and Local
History collection. This online database is an essential collection of unique material for
both genealogical hobbyists and professionals. To access this database you must be a
registered borrower of the Whittemore Library. See the back of your library card for your
borrower id#

NewEnglandAncestors.org website
allows access to over 2100 Genealogical databases.
Government Resources
Hobbies
Internet Search Engines: these websites serve as indexes
to web sites. You can search for sites on a certain subject by using keywords
Legal
Libraries
Maps
- Mapquest - street maps with distances and
driving directions
Measurement
- Megaconverter site - this
site allows you to find measurement equivalents; it includes metric conversions, cooking
conversions and many useful scientific measurement conversions
Medical Information
Naugatuck
News
Population
Taxes
- Connecticut Department of Revenue -
use this site to access Connecticut tax forms and publications. Several years
are available. You will also find contact information for tax assistance here.
- Internal Revenue Services - use
this link to access federal tax forms and publications. Several years are
available.
Weather
Zip Codes
- U.S. Zip Codes - you
can type in an address and retrieve the correct ZIP code for that address; maintained by
the U.S. Postal Service
Connect to Connecticut State Department of Labor's new career page: www.ctjobandcareer.org
Connecticut State Department of Labor has
put together an excellent page of job resources. Go directly to the Connecticut Works Employment Opportunity page.
The Connecticut State Department of Administrative Services (DAS) lists current state
employment opportunities on the DAS
Web Page. Click on Services to the Public.
Links to additional Connecticut Job Listings & Career Information:
Links to National Job Listings:
You may click on the icon below to learn more about planned giving to Connecticut's
non-profits. Leave your legacy and support art, education, libraries and scientific
research.

These sites are ones used frequently by the library staff. The library has no control
over their contents. Due to the nature of the Internet, patrons may wish to verify
information in multiple sources.
Questions, comments, or found a mistake? Please e-mail our webmaster.
|